The Change You Want to See in the World

How many times have you heard someone say, “When I was a kid, I wanted to be a(n) _______.” How many times have you said those words yourself? Today, I want you to think back on the thing you most wanted to do or be when you were younger. You know, the thing you were sure you’d change the world by doing or being or saying. What was it? How many of you ended up following your dream? For those of you who didn’t, what happened?

If money were no object, how would you change the world? What’s the one thing you’re so passionate about that you can feel it burning within you? Now that you’ve got that thing in mind, ask yourself this: What’s stopping you from doing it? I recently came across a video that really made me reexamine my priorities, and I think it’ll do the same for you. This video came to mind over the weekend after talking to several of my friends who are frustrated with some of their own dreams and goals, and I thought it might be a good reminder for any of you who might be struggling with your dreams this Monday morning. Ironically, my friends all said the same things: “I don’t know how to keep doing this. I’m just burned out.” or “I’m having a really hard time staying motivated.” and even “I don’t know where to go from here.”

At times, we all lose sight of what made us passionate about something in the first place. Fortunately, that doesn’t mean we should give up or let go of those dreams. It just means that we need to find another way to tap into those passions or come at them from a different angle. My advice? Think back on what first made you excited about your dream. Once you’ve done that, take three minutes and watch this video. It may sound cliche, but you were placed on this earth with a unique set of skills that nobody else has. Nobody else can write the story you always wanted to tell. Nobody else can sing quite the same way that you can. There may even be people out there waiting to take a chance on a product only you can sell them.

Don’t give up on your dreams. You have them for a reason. They just might be what changes this world.

Leave a Reply

