NaNoWriMo 2012 Kickoff

It’s October 31 again, and I have a major confession to make. I am nowhere near ready for NaNoWriMo.

Tomorrow begins the busiest event in my writing year, where we embark on a thirty-day adventure full of sleepless nights and caffeine-filled days as we strive toward writing fifty-thousand words by November 30. And to be honest, I’m terrified. Every year, I always say that I’m kind of a pantser and that I don’t really have my story planned out. What I really mean is that I don’t have the whole story planned out, although I usually know how it’ll begin and end, and I have a few notes about a battle scene in the middle somewhere. This year, though, I’ve got nothing. Zilch. Nada. Not even an inkling of an idea.

Last year at this time, I’d already posted a kickoff blog article to show you how to succeed at NaNoWriMo. Throughout November, I had fellow ‘WriMo participants share their ideas and inspirations with you on how to get through the tough spots, find writing partners, and more. I’ll be reposting links to some of those articles so that you can read them again, if you’d like. But for NaNoWriMo 2012, I’ll be documenting a totally different approach.

This year, I’ll be blogging and sharing what it’s like to go from a planner to a pantser and the struggles a ‘WriMo participant faces in the trenches. Will it be possible for a planner-turned-pantser to successfully write fifty-thousand words in thirty days with no outline or ideas? The answer, of course, is YES. My writing partner and I will share our successes and frustrations as we journey through this month of literary abandon. Who’s with me? Let’s all take a deep breath together as we jump off this literary cliff and into the sea of spontaneity. We can do this. We are writers. We will win.

Let’s start a discussion! Are you a ‘WriMo pantser? If so, in the comment section, share your favorite tips and tricks for making it through NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

