Standard: Magic Mondays: Think Like a Pirate

I don’t know about where you are, but in my neck of the woods, it’s cold. Just this weekend we got a fresh blanket of snow (on top of the two inches we already had), and the temperatures and windchill factors have dropped down to the teens or lower—especially at night. Although I’m used to this weather and have even considered investing in a dogsled team for emergencies, I can’t help but long for the golden days of summer when overcast days only happened when thunderstorms popped up and temperatures were a bit more tropical. This time of year always makes me long for my favorite vacation destination: the Caribbean.

If I close my eyes, I can almost smell the salty air around the ocean and see those crystal-blue waters. And if I listen closely enough, I can almost hear the creaking of an old pirate ship as it makes its way to some island where there will be treasure and a hearty drink to fill the sailors’ bellies. I must admit, I’m a bit envious. To feel the wind and water on your face as you sail on whatever adventures your captain has for you sounds exciting—particularly as a woman. Most pirates during the Golden Age of Piracy were men, but some famous ladies like Anne Bonny were able to make their lives as pirates for quite a while. These women were to be feared just as much as their male counterparts. In fact, some women even disguised themselves as men so that they could join other sailing crews and gain more respect from the other sailors. Few women pirates were able to become captains and command their own ships, but those who did quickly made names for themselves and earned their places in pirate history. It makes me wonder what kinds of reactions they received when they captured other ships or plundered spoils. Were their prisoners surprised? Impressed? Afraid? I think it was probably a mixture of all these emotions.

One of my favorite sections while writing Merrick Maples and the Legend of the Lost Stone was where Merrick and Lorena meet the pirate crew for the first time. Writing about their life on the sea made me wonder what it would be like to have my own pirate crew and ship, so I decided to start one. According to the pirate name generator site I found, my captain name would be Cap’n Lindsey Rotmeat. It strikes fear into your hearts, doesn’t it? Now that I have a pirate name, I need a crew to join me on the high seas. The only rule is that you have to have a pirate name first. Who’s interested?

3 thoughts on “Standard: Magic Mondays: Think Like a Pirate

  1. Gangrenous Bernice Bonny reporting for duty Cap’n…teehee Love it 🙂 I can’t even fathom writing a pirate scene, I think all my attempts would end up being a sad rendition of Pirates of the Caribbean. Johny Depp *swoon* yeah probably wouldn’t even get it written, Cap’n Jack would show up in my head and that would be that…lol Great post chica!

    • Arr, Bernice! Welcome to me crew. Writing the pirate scene was actually a lot of fun, and believe it or not, there’s actually a pirate style guide that helped me make sure the pirate lingo was “official.” If we get enough people to join our pirate crew, maybe I’ll write a short story and post it on my blog.

      –Cap’n Lindsey Rotmeat 🙂

  2. LOL! What a great post! My family is from the Caribbean, Puerto Rico to be exact. For so many years I avoided going there.. now as an adult love visiting. The air is salty sweet.

    Humm I’ve never given thought to having my own pirate ship crew. That would be awesome!!

Leave a Reply

