Magic Mondays: Holiday Inspirations

The holidays are a magical time. Families get together, we eat tons of food, and there is an excitement in the air that you don’t really get at any other point in the year. If you’re like me, December is also the time of year when you recover from the previous month’s NaNoWriMo event and take some time to reflect on the year’s writing goals. I won’t lie; I always promise I’m going to take December off from writing and pick things up at the beginning of the new year, but this year, I’m having trouble letting go. Everywhere I turn, I seem to be inspired by some sort of holiday decoration, commercial, or end-of-the-year thing. And, darn it, my muse is almost talking to me faster than my fingers can type.

So far this year, my inspirations have come from A Muppet Christmas Carol, snow, Santa, peppermint mochas, and Bing Crosby’s Christmas album. With all those things combined, I’m in a holiday writing dreamland. But all this wintry writing made me wonder—what inspires your stories during the holidays? Do you take some time to hibernate your characters and revisit them in the new year? Does the thought of warm Christmas cookies and a big glass of milk (or a peppermint mocha or tea or some other beverage) make you want to get cozy by the fire and write to your heart’s content?

What holiday traditions do your characters have? Do they celebrate Christmas? Hanukkah? Kwanza? Winter Solstice? Do they hibernate for the winter and only reappear after it’s spring?

No matter what holiday you celebrate, I hope you and your characters have a very happy December. For now, you’ll have to excuse me; I feel a snow-inspired scene coming on.

Leave a Reply

