#FridayReads Blog Post: How Reading Changed My Life

Updated Note: I just realized my link for the #FridayReads blog page wasn’t working. I’m including an updated link. This post also appears as a guest post today on the FridayReads blog http://fridayreads.blogspot.com/.

I still remember the day that I received my first full series of books: Little House on the Prairie. I was in the second grade, and my teacher had just opened the box of book club books that my classmates and I had ordered. You remember those, right? The Scholastic book club for children? Imagine my surprise when, as my teacher pulled books out of the box, she said, “Another one for Melissa!” Nine books later, my desk was covered, and I was in love. I found it hard to concentrate the rest of the day because I kept glancing at my new treasures and running my fingers over their spines. I absolutely couldn’t wait to get home and read, and as soon as I got off the bus that afternoon, that’s exactly what I did.
As a young girl growing up in the middle of nowhere, it was easy for me to identify with the Little House books. All I had to do to imagine Laura Ingalls’s life on the prairie was to look outside my window. I could close my eyes and almost hear the sound of the covered wagons as they made their way over the trails, and I could feel the prairie grasses under my own feet. Needless to say, I was hooked. I read all of the Little House books and then moved on to the Little House on Rocky Ridge series and then any other books I could get my hands on.
Even now as an adult, I still read as much as possible and am a firm believer in promoting books, libraries, and literacy throughout our society. My passion for reading is also the reason I believe that FridayReads is so important. Each week around the world, book lovers unite by shouting out their favorite books and current reads, whether they be books, blogs, or audio books. FridayReads not only encourages people to read but also exposes us to authors who we may not see on our own.
Looking back on my own life, I know that books have shaped the woman I am today. And if they can do that for me, I can only imagine what they can do for others. I encourage everyone to participate in FridayReads this week (and every week!). You might just find that it’ll change your life.

Leave a Reply

