Book Review: Under the Black Flag: The Romance and the Reality of Life Among the Pirates

I first came across this book when I was researching pirates and life on the high seas for a story I’m writing. I have always been fascinated by the legend of pirates, and this book provided me with the truth behind the myths. Under the Black Flag: The Romance and the Reality of Life Among the Pirates covers everything from the terminology (e.g., the difference between a buccaneer and a corsair) to the types of ships pirates used, their favorite haunts, and even the most famous pirates–both men and women.

I was so impressed at the knowledge I gained from this book. It made me want to learn more about pirates and their lifestyles. And from this single book, I learned enough that I was able to select a ship style for the pirates in my story. (This may not sound like a big feat to you, but I was stuck on that problem for months!) David Cordingly did a great job of researching this topic, and he also leaves his readers with a long section of end notes in case they have more questions.

If you’ve ever wondered about life on the high seas or imagined what it was like to be a pirate, this book is definitely for you. I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

